Head Bonks & Hallucinations

A few weeks ago, I think I suffered a minor concussion. It’s impossible to know for sure, but the facts would suggest so – and sad to report, the story of how it happened is entirely lame. I was at the gym – let me just interject here and tell you, it’s definitely not what you’re thinking – when I headed to the free squat rack and proceeded to bend down to pick up the shoulder pad for the bar (it was resting on the floor)..and on my way up, I crashed my head into one of the metal support beams on the rack…hard. I vaguely recall emitting a loud, vocal “Ouch!” to the surprised glances of onlooking gym-goers. It was such a significant hit that all I could focus on was the shock of the sudden impact, no attention left to even feel embarrassed.

It hurt like a b****, and in hindsight, I do think I was pretty tired the rest of the day, but the next morning at orchestra rehearsal…well, that’s when I knew. My head was spinning, I felt lightheaded, and there was just way. too. much. stimulation. An orchestra (especially sitting in front of the brass) is not the place to be when you might have a concussion. 😅 Needless to say, my head was pounding by the time I returned home, and I basically spent the remainder of the day sleeping…and I’m one of those people who almost never naps. Clearly something was up.

Luckily, it seemed to resolve itself within a few days and by early/mid next week (the fateful head bonk occurred on Friday morning), my symptoms were pretty much gone…or so I thought.

Later that week, I was walking through the streets in my neighborhood, enjoying the early spring weather and catching up with my mom on the phone. As I casually strolled down the city streets, I encountered a woman walking towards me with her four-legged friend on a leash…except wait, no, it wasn’t a dog. Wait. What. This couldn’t be right.

Was I seeing what I thought I was seeing?

I fell silent on the phone for a few minutes, doing a solid quadruple-take. I was trying not to stare, but also, I needed to confirm what I saw before me.

…She was walking a pig. Yes, that’s right. A pig on a leash, the snout gently muzzled shut with a little piece of tied string. Just taking her pig on a stroll through the urban streets of Montréal as if it were the most natural thing in the world.

Was I hallucinating?? I hadn’t hit my head that hard, had I?

Of course, I had to wait a couple of minutes until she was appropriately far enough away to be out of earshot before I could express my stunned disbelief on the phone:

Uhhh, sorry. I just walked past a lady who was walking a pig. An actual pig, on a leash, Mom! Like….what. I’m sorry, I’m still in shock here.

It was so bizarre, yet also quite comical. Not your typical city sight, that’s for sure.

My only regret is that I didn’t take a picture. I had wanted to, but how does one go about discreetly taking a picture of someone walking their pig on the sidewalk without being obviously rude and intrusive?

Not to mention, it took my brain a few minutes to process everything, by which point, it was too late for a good and clear angle anyways. I suppose I could have snapped a really terrible (and likely blurry) shot of the pig’s tail as it waddled away in the distance…but I didn’t.

At this point, I really wish I had done at least that. Not just because it would have made this post complete in a way my mere words could never accomplish, but moreover so that I could confirm without a doubt that I hadn’t simply hallucinated this in a momentary head-injury-related relapse.

But who knows, perhaps I’ll cross paths with the lady and her pig in the future – and rest assured, nothing will stop me from taking a photo next time. Until then, the truth of the matter – reality or illusion – will remain a pig-stery.

2 thoughts on “Head Bonks & Hallucinations

  1. Nice! It’s interesting that when you start coming out of a coma, everything looks the same, but you really don’t know what’s what yet. You wonder where you are but you know that you have been there. Or you see the face of a good friend and wonder who he/she really is. Then you wonder where you are again and why do you feel so weird. You let people guide you, but you dont know where you are or where you are going. Eventually you gain more and more memory. Years later you wonder if that has anything to do with you not remembering names of people like your spouse or siblings. Life is good.

    Like

    1. Luckily this was nowhere near “coma” level! Just a small head bump, but yes the inner workings of the human mind and how they change our experience throughout life are endlessly mysterious and fascinating. Glad all is well!

      Like

Leave a comment